About The Cal Pac



The California Pacific Conference, one of the most diverse Division II leagues in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics is now the largest NAIA conference in the West. Twelve members strong with 11 championship sports, all with direct qualification into national championship contention, the Cal Pac is also a perennial Five Star Conference of Character.


Four new members joined the league for the 2015-16 season with University of Antelope Valley (Lancaster, Calif.), Sierra Nevada College (Incline Village, Nev.), Providence Christian College (Pasadena, Calif.), and Benedictine University-Mesa (Mesa, Ariz.) joining the eight institutions that range from Northern California to Arizona.


Conference members come from the California State and University of California systems, various religious affiliations, and liberal arts colleges and feature wide-ranging educational opportunities. If there is a discipline to study, chances are it can be done in the Cal Pac!


The conference spans from just south of the Oregon border, to the Bay Area, to Central California, Southern California, and Arizona. Along with the four new members, California Maritime Academy (Vallejo, Calif.), Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Prescott, Ariz.), La Sierra University (Riverside, Calif.), Marymount California University (Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.), Pacific Union College (Angwin, Calif.), UC Merced (Merced, Calif.), Simpson University (Redding, Calif.), and Soka University of America (Aliso Viejo, Calif.) make up the current conference membership.


A Five-Star Conference of Character, the Cal Pac is committed to the Champions of Character program, focusing on student-athlete experience.


The Cal Pac offers 11 championships in six women's sports (basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball and volleyball) and five men's sports (basketball, baseball, cross country, golf, and soccer).


The conference was chartered in May 24, 1995, by seven Bay Area institutions: Bethany, Cal Maritime, Dominican College, Holy Names, Pacific Union, Patten College and Simpson.

League membership soared to what was then its highest level in 1999-2000 when Mills College joined to become the 12th member.


The first conference action took place 1996-1997 with seven of the eight charter members playing a league basketball schedule. The Cal Pac was created during a time period in which many NAIA schools in the West were leaving for NCAA Division II or III conferences. As recently as 1992, there were only two NAIA schools in Northern California. The implementation of the Cal Pac allowed for a reverse trend as it attracted eight new members into the NAIA, including five that had been long-time NCAA schools.


A foundation existed for the formation of an NAIA-affiliated conference in Northern California when two Oakland schools, Patten (1993) and Holy Names (1994) joined Bethany and Dominican in the NAIA, with Pacific Union joining in 1995. Bill Fusco, then-Dominican athletic director, spearheaded the idea of pulling more teams into the Association with the goal of creating an affiliated conference.


The conference has made purposeful improvements in recent years, ranging from the stylistic upgrades of its logo, improved use of technology for its website and reporting, significant creativity in awards, increased representation and involvement at the national level by its leaders, and a constant assault on competitive success by its coaches and student-athletes.


This era of expansion started with a leadership shift in the Cal Pac. Don Ott serves as the league's commissioner, joining the conference in 2007 and the first commissioner without a member institution affiliation. Ott has worked in intercollegiate athletics for over 30 years, starting with his days as a student assistant at Washington State University, and including stops with Athletes In Action's world touring team, Oral Roberts University, and a 15-year stint as the associate commissioner of the West Coast Conference of NCAA DI.


Marv Christopher of Cal Maritime is the conference president and Gary White of Marymount California is vice president.  David Dunham of UC Merced represents the Cal Pac on the NAIA's influential NAC. Dr. Frank Ayers, the Chancellor of Embry-Riddle, leads the conference's Council of Presidents and sits on the NAIA's COP group.


Matt Davis, a former Cal Pac head coach and college professor, serves as Sports Information Director. NAIA Hall of Famer, Dr. James Davies, is the faculty athletic representative/eligibility chair.



Mailing Address: 18550 Redwood Road, Castro Valley, CA 94546

Commissioner Don Ott: (510) 432-7699

Fax: (510) 581-1827

SID Matt Davis: (916) 505-6549

Eligibility Chair Dr. James Davies: (541) 331-7049