Cal Pac News
Cal Pac - Wed, Jan. 25, 2012

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Marymount College and Soka University will join the California Pacific Conference for the 2012-13 season, Commissioner Don Ott announced today. The move expands the Cal Pac into two new geographic regions and brings the number of members to nine for the next academic year.

"Each of these institutions brings a unique and promising set of qualities into our conference, which is already one of the most diverse in the NAIA." Ott said. "Moreover, they are institutions with outstanding academic reputations which are intent on excellence in the classroom, in the community, and in athletics. We are overjoyed they have joined the Cal Pac, and look forward as all our programs grow during this new era."

All three new members previously participated in the Association of Independent Institutions. AII commissioner Ted Breidenthal helped in the Cal Pac expansion.

Embry-Riddle, located in Prescott, Ariz., is the first Cal Pac member from outside of California. The aptly named Eagles will participate in women's volleyball, men and women's soccer, and men's golf in their first year of membership. ERAU is noted for its focus on aviation and security.

 Marymount, from Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif., is a Catholic institution perched with a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean just south of Los Angeles. The Mariners join the Cal Pac in men's and women's soccer, along with adding men's and women's cross country in the Fall of 2012, and men's golf for 2013 spring.

Soka, in Aliso Viejo, Calif., has a stunning campus in coastal Orange County hills. The Lions will compete initially in men's and women's soccer and cross country in their first year in the Cal Pac.

The Cal Pac, founded in 1996, sponsors nine sports for men and women and is a Five-Star Conference of Character within the NAIA. The three new members will join California Maritime Academy, University of California-Merced, Menlo College, Pacific Union College, Simpson University, and William Jessup University in 2012-13.