Cal Pac News
News Photo
Softball - Fri, May. 2, 2014

Following a season that concluded with a 34-6 record overall and 9-1 in conference competition, No. 16 Simpson landed six players on the California Pacific Conference softball all conference team, including Player of the Year Ryan Norton.

       Ryan Norton

Norton, who led the Red Hawks into the NAIA National Championships, put some impressive numbers this spring.  The junior outfielder batted .611 in conference and .477 overall, which ranked her 20th in the country.  She was also 17th in the nation in hits per game at 1.537.  Norton also averaged scoring over one run per game.


Red Hawk teammate, Paris Hallums, was voted the Pitcher of the Year after compiling a 4-1 mark in the Cal Pac.  Hallums, a freshman, finished 11-2 overall with a 2.16 earned run average.  She ranked 18th in the country with 8.44 strikeouts per nine innings, and opponents only hit .204 against her this season.


Menlo's Melissa Reynosa was selected as the Newcomer of the Year after batting .438 in conference play, including four home runs.  For the season, the junior catcher hit .361 with 22 runs batted in.


Simpson's Courtney Thomas turned in an outstanding season and was named Freshman of the Year.  She finished Cal Pac play with a .522 batting average, including three home runs.  For the season, Thomas hit .408 and finished with 12 home runs and 33 runs batted in.


After guiding his team to the top of the Cal Pac standings, Simpson skipper Wayne Sower was voted Coach of the year by his peers.



Softball All-Conference Team


Pitcher             Paris Hallums (Simpson)  

Catcher           Monique Villasenor (La Sierra)


Infield               Brittany LaMar (William Jessup)

Infield               Kara Wall (Simpson)

Infield               Melanie Vidaurri (La Sierra)

Infield               Simonne Davis (Embry-Riddle)


Outfield         Ryan Norton (Simpson)

Outfield         Nicole Larson (Menlo)

Outfield         Racie Carrel (William Jessup)      


DP/Utility        Courtney Thomas (Simpson)


Other              Mary Hall (Menlo)  

Other              Leesha Shoemaker (William Jessup)

Other              Erika Basurto (La Sierra)

Other              Chelsea Dunn (Simpson)

Other              Melissa Reynosa (Menlo)

Other              Kaylana Mah (Simpson)


Player of the Year:               RYAN NORTON (Simpson)


Pitcher of the Year:              PARIS HALLUMS (Simpson)


Freshman of the Year:         COURTNEY THOMAS (Simpson)


Newcomer of the Year:         MELISSA REYNOSA (Menlo)


Coach of the Year:                WAYNE STOWER (Simpson)